Here are your SCOTY 2019 finalists!

Here are your SCOTY 2019 finalists!

They have battled it out for a regional title and now 12 school chefs will go on to compete in the live national final of LACA School Chef of the Year in the hopes of winning the national competition.

Heats have been taking place up and down the country in LACA’s 10 regions to find the very best school caterers. They are tasked to create a two-course meal suitable for an 11-year-old that meets school food standards, is nutritious and tasty and within budget.

After all 10 were selected, two wildcard entries were then selected to progress through to the final – a first for the long-running competition, which is now sponsored by McDougalls.

Earlier this week, the finalists met face to face for the first time at Premier Foods’ headquarters for a competition briefing ahead of the final on 7th March. They also heard from 2018 winner Michael Goulston about his career-changing year as SCOTY champion.

This year’s finalists are:

(Back Row l to r)
Tanya Malone (West Midlands); Cheryl Humphries (Cranbrook, Kent); Josefine Austin (South East); Dave Leeper (South West); Matt Betts (Yorkshire & Humber); Steven Cross (Havant, Hampshire) and Cheryl Allen (North West)

(Front Row l to r)
Jane Jones (Wales); Sara Franklin (East Midlands); Michelle Creed (London); Karen Cuthbertson (North East & Scotland) and Katherine Bridge (East of England).